UAMS College of Pharmacy Honors Class of 1954

By todd

LITTLE ROCK – The University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) recently honored members of its College of Pharmacy Class of 1954 on their 50th anniversary.


A 50th anniversary banquet and reception was held Sept. 17 at the Holiday Inn Presidential in downtown Little Rock. UAMS Chancellor I. Dodd Wilson, M.D., joined College of Pharmacy Dean Stephanie Gardner, Pharm.D., Ed.D., in honoring the 50th anniversary graduates. Each member in attendance received a certificate of appreciation for 50 years of community service.


Members of the Class of 1954 included Clifton Brown of Little Rock, Ark.; Bob Girkin of Searcy, Ark.; John T. McFatter from Mountain View, Ark.; John L. Morris of Atoka, Tenn.; James A. Mosley of Destin, Fla.; John L. Murray, Baton Rouge, La.; Robert Patrick from Fayetteville, Ark.; Bill Plunkett of Mena, Ark; Fred Ragland of Stuttgart, Ark.; Bill Spikes of Hot Springs, Ark.; Jim Steed of Hot Springs, Ark.; and Oliver Walters of Rayville, La.


Also in attendance were the members from the Silver Anniversary Class of 1979 and the classes of 1964, 1974, 1984 and 1994.


The UAMS College of Pharmacy, founded in 1952, is the only college of pharmacy in Arkansas and also provides service to patients across the state through its Poison Control Center, Drug Information Center and other outreach efforts.


UAMS is the state’s only comprehensive academic health center, with five colleges, a graduate school, a medical center, five centers of excellence and a statewide network of regional centers. UAMS has about 2,170 students and 650 residents and is the state’s largest public employer with almost 9,000 employees. UAMS and its affiliates have an economic impact in Arkansas of about $3.8 billion a year. UAMS centers of excellence are the Arkansas Cancer Research Center, Harvey and Bernice Jones Eye Institute, Donald W. Reynolds Center on Aging, Myeloma Institute for Research and Therapy and Jackson T. Stephens Spine and Neurosciences Institute.