College of Pharmacy

May 4, 2021

College of Pharmacy Celebrates 35 Students in Match Day Ceremony

Karmen Robinson

Assistant professor Megan Smith, Pharm.D., welcomes students to the virtual Postgraduate Match Day Ceremony on April 27.

The College of Pharmacy at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) recognized 35 students who will continue their education in postgraduate residencies and graduate programs. Twenty-four students will head to first-year residency programs (PGY1), 10 will continue their residencies in second-year programs (PGY2) and one will begin a Ph.D. program. “This year, the…

April 29, 2021

College of Pharmacy Recognizes Student Achievement with Virtual Awards Ceremony

Karmen Robinson

Dean Cindy Stowe, Pharm.D., thanks donors and congratulates scholarship recipients during the College of Pharmacy's Virtual Student Awards Ceremony on April 7.

Students in the College of Pharmacy (COP) completed applications, wrote essays and participated in interviews, all while managing a challenging academic course load during a global pandemic. On April 7, pharmacy students collectively received more than 100 scholarships and awards during the college’s Virtual Student Awards Ceremony. “The applications and essays this year were phenomenal,…

April 23, 2021

College of Pharmacy Celebrates Third-Year Students at Pinning Ceremony

Karmen Robinson

Third-year students in the College of Pharmacy gather for the 18th annual Academy of Student Pharmacists Professional Pinning Ceremony on March 4. The pinning ceremony marks their transition from didactic coursework to practice experience.

The College of Pharmacy at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) honored 95 third-year students during its 18th annual Academy of Student Pharmacists Professional Pinning Ceremony on March 4. At the virtual ceremony, the Class of 2022 received pins to signify their transition from in-class instruction to direct patient care as they enter…

March 31, 2021

Brittany Butterfield Awarded National Zada M. Cooper Scholarship

Ben Boulden

Brittany Butterfield

Brittany Butterfield recently received a 2020-2021 Zada M. Cooper Scholarship, one of five national scholarships awarded by Kappa Epsilon, the Kappa Epsilon Foundation and its Scholarship Committee.

Ashlyn Tedder Receives 2021 APhA Foundation Scholarship

Ben Boulden

Ashlyn Tedder

Third-year College of Pharmacy student Ashlyn Tedder recently was awarded an APhA Foundation Scholarship by the American Pharmacists Association (APhA).

December 17, 2020

Moore Receives National Scholarship

Ben Boulden

Alex Moore

During a virtual convention and awards ceremony in October, Alex Moore, a third-year College of Pharmacy student, was one of 15 students nationwide chosen to receive the National Community Pharmacy Association (NCPA) Foundation Presidential Scholarship. This scholarship is awarded to individuals who demonstrate leadership qualities and accomplishments along with having interest in independent pharmacy. Moore…

December 11, 2020

College’s 2020 Clinical Pharmacy Team Most Successful Yet in National Competition

Ben Boulden

Team members (from left) Ryan Marks, Jacqueline Dodwell and Haodi Ruan competed in the American College of Clinical Pharmacy’s Clinical Pharmacy Challenge.

Three fourth-year College of Pharmacy students performed even better than they expected this fall during the American College of Clinical Pharmacy’s Clinical Pharmacy Challenge, reaching the quarter finals in the nationwide contest for the first time.

December 2, 2020

Academy Finds Real Success in Virtual Form, Garners Sustaining Funding

Ben Boulden

Seth Heldenbrand, top left, meets during a live, video class session with students and other participants in the NCPA Foundation-UAMS Pharmacy Ownership and Leadership Academy.

Converting an in-person program, meeting or event into a live, video streaming one has become common in 2020. Making it almost as successful as its original in-person version has been rare, although the UAMS College of Pharmacy has done it. The NCPA Foundation-UAMS Pharmacy Ownership and Leadership Academy is a real-world example of the adaptability…

November 24, 2020

Painter Leads PEP Division as New Director

Ben Boulden

Jacob Painter

Jacob T. Painter, Pharm.D., MBA, Ph.D., has been named the director of the College of Pharmacy’s Division of Pharmaceutical Evaluation and Policy (PEP). Painter is an associate professor in the College’s Department of Pharmacy Practice and has been  a member of PEP division faculty since 2012. Since April 2019, he has served as associate director…

Serfaty Chosen as UAMS Director of Nuclear Education Online

Ben Boulden

Brigette Serfaty

Brigette Serfaty, Pharm.D., BCNP, FAPhA, has been named the new director of the Nuclear Education Online program in the UAMS College of Pharmacy. From 2019 until recently, Serfaty served as a vice president of PharmaLogic Holdings in Boca Raton, Florida, leading the quality and regulatory department of its PET and radiopharmacy operations. She also was…

Next page