Free or Low-Cost Mammograms Offered Nov. 30 in Mississippi County Thanks to UAMS Witness Project

By todd

LITTLE ROCK – Free or low-cost mammograms will be offered in Blytheville to Mississippi County women age 40 or older on Tuesday, Nov. 30, from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. The mammograms are made possible by The Witness Project, a community-based cancer education program of the Arkansas Cancer Research Center at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS).


Health care professionals from St. Bernards Medical Center in Jonesboro will perform the mammograms in the center’s mobile mammography unit, which will be stationed at the David Lane Senior Center in Blytheville. Pre-registration is required; call (800) 275-1183 to find out the qualification requirements and to schedule an appointment.


The Witness Project promotes awareness of mammography among African-American women and medically underserved women. African-American women who are breast or cervical cancer survivors serve as role models and “witness” at churches and civic groups about their triumphs over cancer. Through this program, more women – particularly in the rural parts of Arkansas – are becoming better informed about early detection in the fight against breast and cervical cancer.


For more information about the program, or to learn how you can become a volunteer, write to the Arkansas Cancer Research Center, 4301 West Markham, # 629-A, Little Rock, Arkansas 72205; or call (800) 275-1183.


UAMS is the state’s only comprehensive academic health center, with five colleges, a graduate school, a medical center, five centers of excellence and a statewide network of regional centers. UAMS has about 2,170 students and 650 residents and is the state’s largest public employer with almost 9,000 employees. UAMS and its affiliates have an economic impact in Arkansas of about $3.8 billion a year.


UAMS centers of excellence are the Arkansas Cancer Research Center, Harvey and Bernice Jones Eye Institute, Donald W. Reynolds Center on Aging, Myeloma Institute for Research and Therapy and Jackson T. Stephens Spine and Neurosciences Institute.