UAMS Faculty to Share Expertise with Physicians in Fort Smith

By todd


LITTLE ROCK – Four faculty members in the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) College of Medicine will present the latest findings in their medical specialties Friday, May 20, in Fort Smith during a seminar for medical professionals.


The presentations, part of the 15th Annual Area Health Education Center-Fort Smith Continuing Medical Education Seminar, will be in the Holiday Inn-City Center at 700 Rogers Ave. The seminar has been approved for six hours of American Medical Association category I credit. The cost is $75 per person and includes lunch. For more information, call Cathy Smith at (479) 424-3193 or email her at


Faculty presenting from UAMS include: May Griebel, M.D., associate professor of pediatrics, who will discuss sleep disorders in children; Eve Wiseman, M.D., associate professor in the UAMS College of Medicine and clinical chief of the special treatment section for the Central Arkansas Veterans Healthcare System, who will discuss substance abuse in the elderly; Micah Hester, Ph.D., assistant professor of medical humanities, who will discuss medical ethics; and David A. Hutchins, M.D., assistant professor of gynecology, who will discuss menopausal health.


 These lectures are part of the UAMS Outreach Program, which provides continuing medical education credits to Arkansas physicians. Through the program, UAMS physicians from all specialties travel the state to provide lectures, teach procedures and discuss difficult cases. The outreach program is in its 14th year and provides more than 70 speakers annually.


UAMS is the state’s only comprehensive academic health center, with five colleges, a graduate school, a medical center, five centers of excellence and a statewide network of regional centers. UAMS has more than 2,200 students and 660 residents and is the state’s largest public employer with almost 9,000 employees. UAMS and its affiliates have an economic impact in Arkansas of $4.1 billion a year.


UAMS centers of excellence are the Arkansas Cancer Research Center, Harvey and Bernice Jones Eye Institute, Donald W. Reynolds Institute on Aging, Myeloma Institute for Research and Therapy and Jackson T. Stephens Spine and Neurosciences Institute.