Three UAMS College of Nursing Research Grants Awarded

By todd

LITTLE ROCK –  The Tailored Biobehavioral Interventions Research Center at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) College of Nursing recently named three researchers as recipients of pilot study grants.


The $45,000 in grants is targeted to tailored patient care and is supported by a $1.5 million grant from the National Institute of Nursing Research. The College of Nursing research center awards up to three pilot study grants each year, and the data collected can be used to develop a larger study.


Grants this year went to Sharon Coon, Ph.D., R.N., Clifford Franklin, Ph.D., and Johannah Uriri Glover, Ph.D., R.N. Coon and Glover are assistant professors in the College of Nursing. Franklin is an assistant professor in the Department of Audiology and Speech Pathology at the UAMS College of Health Related Professions.


Coon’s research project is titled “Peripheral Neuropathy, Fatigue and Insomnia Related to Cancer and Chemotherapy. Glover’s project is “A Warm Lavender Oil Towel Bath to Promote Sleep in Persons with Dementia,” and Franklin’s study is titled “Auditory Training of Geriatric Individuals with Hearing Loss.”


Research Center Director Kathy Richards, Ph.D., R.N., said that there’s been little research on individualized care, despite its importance. “By researching how people of different ages, genders, races and overall health respond to types of care, it is possible to tailor that care to provide the best recovery,” she said.


UAMS is the state’s only comprehensive academic health center, with five colleges, a graduate school, a medical center, five centers of excellence and a statewide network of regional centers. UAMS has about 2,320 students and 690 residents and is the state’s largest public employer with almost 9,000 employees. UAMS and its affiliates have an economic impact in Arkansas of $4.3 billion a year.


UAMS centers of excellence are the Arkansas Cancer Research Center, Harvey and Bernice Jones Eye Institute, Donald W. Reynolds Institute on Aging, Myeloma Institute for Research and Therapy and Jackson T. Stephens Spine & Neurosciences Institute.