Georges Chahoud, M.D., Joins UAMS Department of Internal Medicine

By todd

LITTLE ROCK – Georges Chahoud, M.D., has been named assistant professor in the Department of Internal Medicine, Division of Cardiovascular Medicine at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) and the staff cardiologist at the Central Arkansas Veterans Healthcare System.


In addition, Chahoud has been named co-director of the UAMS Heart Failure and Transplantation Program and is involved in the evaluation and management of patients with advanced heart failure and heart transplantation.


A native of Syria, Chahoud graduated third in his class from Aleppo University School of Medicine in Aleppo, Syria. He completed his residency in internal medicine at Aleppo University Hospital and Saint Louis University Health Science Center in St. Louis, Mo.


During a cardiology fellowship in the UAMS Department of Internal Medicine from 2002-2005, Chahoud was named Fellow of the Year for three consecutive years. In 2003, he received the Professional Recognition Award at the Third Annual Cardiology Fellows Forum of Excellence.


Chahoud is a member of the American Heart Association’s council on clinical cardiology, the American College of Cardiology and the Syrian Medical Association. He is an associate member of the American College of Physicians, the National Arab-American Medical Association, the International Society of Heart and Lung Transplantation and the American Society of Echocardiography.


UAMS is the state’s only comprehensive academic health center, with five colleges, a graduate school, a medical center, five centers of excellence and a statewide network of regional centers. UAMS has about 2,320 students and 690 residents and is the state’s largest public employer with almost 9,000 employees. UAMS and its affiliates have an economic impact in Arkansas of $4.3 billion a year.


UAMS centers of excellence are the Arkansas Cancer Research Center, Harvey and Bernice Jones Eye Institute, Donald W. Reynolds Institute on Aging, Myeloma Institute for Research and Therapy and Jackson T. Stephens Spine & Neurosciences Institute.