UAMS Names Nationally Recognized Physician to Lead Emergency Medicine Department

By todd

LITTLE ROCK – Marvin Leibovich, M.D., nationally recognized for his work in the field of emergency medicine, has been named chairman of the Department of Emergency Medicine in the College of Medicine at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS).


Leibovich has worked for more than 25 years at the Baptist Health Medical Center in Little Rock, serving as chief of emergency medicine and medical director of the emergency trauma department and the MedFlight helicopter service. He will start as Emergency Medicine Department chairman at UAMS on Jan. 1.


Leibovich has served as a board examiner for the American Board of Emergency Medicine and received a Meritorious Service Award from the American College of Emergency Physicians among other honors and citations. He served as chairman of the Governor’s Advisory Council for Emergency Medical Services and has continued to serve since 1995 as medical director of the Arkansas Department of Health and Human Services’ Division of Emergency Medical Services and Trauma Systems.


“Dr. Leibovich brings a wealth of talent and experience to his post as chairman of our Department of Emergency Medicine,” said UAMS College of Medicine Dean E. Albert Reece, M.D., Ph.D., M.B.A. “In his new role, he will introduce an integrated medical and nursing practice to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of our emergency medicine and patient care programs.”


Since 1980, he also has been a clinical professor of emergency medicine at UAMS, where he has twice received the Dr. J. Ryland Mundie Distinguished Services Award for superior performance in the practice and teaching of emergency medicine and in 2002 received the Golden Apple Award for Service from the College of Medicine.

In addition to his clinical responsibilities, Leibovich is a certified police officer and is a member of both the Little Rock Police Department and the Arkansas State Police Special Weapons and Tactics (SWAT) teams.


He has been president of the Arkansas Chapter of American College Emergency Physicians, president of the Pulaski County Medical Society, a member of the board of directors of the Baptist Health Medical System Foundation and an executive committee member of the Baptist Health Medical Center. In addition, he has served as Arkansas Counselor for the American College of Emergency Physicians House of Delegates and member of the board of directors of the Arkansas Emergency Physicians Foundation.


The Department of Emergency Medicine at UAMS is responsible for the operating the Emergency Department in the UAMS Medical Center. The Emergency Department handles more than 32,000 visits annually. It includes 25 beds for major and minor trauma, a decontamination suite, an orthopedic suite and a minor surgery suite. The Emergency Department provides full-service on a 24-hour basis with in-house faculty in attendance at all times.


The fully accredited residency program in the Department of Emergency Medicine was established in 1983 and is fully staffed by board-certified or board-eligible emergency medicine faculty. In addition to UAMS Medical Center, residents in the program train at Arkansas Children’s Hospital, John L. McClellan Veterans Hospital and the Baptist Medical Center.


UAMS is the state’s only comprehensive academic health center, with five colleges, a graduate school, a medical center, five centers of excellence and a statewide network of regional centers. UAMS has about 2,320 students and 690 residents and is the state’s largest public employer with almost 9,000 employees. UAMS and its affiliates have an economic impact in Arkansas of $4.3 billion a year.


UAMS centers of excellence are the Arkansas Cancer Research Center, Harvey and Bernice Jones Eye Institute, Donald W. Reynolds Institute on Aging, Myeloma Institute for Research and Therapy and Jackson T. Stephens Spine & Neurosciences Institute.