National Organization Honors UAMS Faculty Member

By todd

LITTLE ROCK – Terry DuBose, director of the Diagnostic Medical Sonography program at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS), has received the 2005 Distinguished Educator Award from the Society of Diagnostic Medical Sonography.

The award, presented during the society’s recent annual conference, honors outstanding educators in the field of diagnostic medical sonography. The Society of Diagnostic Medical Sonography, with more than 17,000 members, is the largest professional association for sonographers in the world.

DuBose joined the UAMS faculty in 1996 as director of the sonography program in the UAMS College of Health Related Professions. He is a member of the board of directors for the American Registry for Diagnostic Medical Sonography and the board of governors for the American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine.

In 1999, he was named a fellow in the SDMS after previously being recognized by the organization for work with the U.S. Department of Labor to establish sonography as an independent profession.

UAMS is the state’s only comprehensive academic health center, with five colleges, a graduate school, a medical center, five centers of excellence and a statewide network of regional centers. UAMS has about 2,320 students and 690 residents and is the state’s largest public employer with almost 9,000 employees. UAMS and its affiliates have an economic impact in Arkansas of $4.3 billion a year.

UAMS centers of excellence are the Arkansas Cancer Research Center, Harvey and Bernice Jones Eye Institute, Donald W. Reynolds Institute on Aging, Myeloma Institute for Research and Therapy and Jackson T. Stephens Spine & Neurosciences Institute.