UAMS Scholarship Established, Thanks to 11 Arkansas Pharmacists

By todd

LITTLE ROCK — A new scholarship at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences’ (UAMS) College of Pharmacy has been established thanks to pledges from 11 Arkansas pharmacists.


Contributing to the scholarship are:

  • Jeanie Horton, Pharm.D., of Marshall
  • Robert Harkness, Pharm.D., of Atkins
  • Larry Sparks, Pharm.D., of Clinton
  • Kass Lomax, Pharm.D., of Jonesboro
  • Kyle Lomax, Pharm.D., of  Jonesboro
  • Bill Garrett, Pharm.D., of Conway
  • Eddie Glover, Pharm.D., of Conway
  • Jennifer Hyde, Pharm.D., of Conway
  • Kristen Riddle, Pharm.D., of Conway
  • Chuck Shipp, Pharm.D., of Conway
  • David Smith, Pharm.D., of Conway

The pharmacists have pledged a total of $20,000 to fund the Emmanuel Scholarship, named in honor of their business partnership group. Interest income from the endowed fund will be used to provide scholarships for current students entering the field of community pharmacy.


“We are extremely grateful to these generous pharmacists, who have made possible a fund to assist deserving students and their future colleagues,” said Stephanie F. Gardner, Pharm.D., Ed.D., dean of the College of Pharmacy. “The demand for pharmacists is greater than ever, and our college is growing in response to the need. As a result, we must find more ways to assist our students. Income from this endowed fund will benefit our students for generations to come.”


The College of Pharmacy currently has its largest-ever enrollment of 360 students.


UAMS is the state’s only comprehensive academic health center, with five colleges, a graduate school, a medical center, five centers of excellence and a statewide network of regional centers. UAMS has about 2,320 students and 690 residents and is the state’s largest public employer with almost 9,000 employees. UAMS and its affiliates have an economic impact in Arkansas of $4.3 billion a year.


UAMS centers of excellence are the Arkansas Cancer Research Center, Harvey and Bernice Jones Eye Institute, Donald W. Reynolds Institute on Aging, Myeloma Institute for Research and Therapy and Jackson T. Stephens Spine & Neurosciences Institute.