Simpson Named Chairman of UAMS Laboratory Sciences Department

By todd

LITTLE ROCK – Donald D. Simpson, Ph.D., has been named chairman for the Department of Laboratory Sciences in the College of Health Related Professions at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS).


Simpson, a board-registered cytotechnologist with a master’s degree in public health, has served as interim director of the cytotechnology program at UAMS since 2004. The UAMS Department of Laboratory Sciences includes the cytotechnology and medical technology programs. Simpson succeeds David Shelledy, Ph.D., CHRP associate dean for academic and student affairs, who served as interim chairman of the department.


Prior to directing the cytotechnology program, he served as associate director of research for the Department of Emergency Medicine in the UAMS College of Medicine.


Simpson is an associate member of the American Society for Clinical Pathology and a member of the American Public Health Association and American Society for Cytopathology. He is national regional director for the American Society for Cytotechnology and president of the Southern Association of Cytotechnologists.


Simpson also serves as chairman of the quality management committee and member of the Cervical Cancer Workgroup for the Breast Care program in the Arkansas Department of Health and Human Services.


UAMS is the state’s only comprehensive academic health center, with five colleges, a graduate school, a medical center, six centers of excellence and a statewide network of regional centers. UAMS has about 2,430 students and 715 medical residents. It is one of the state’s largest public employers with about 9,400 employees, including nearly 1,000 physicians who provide medical care to patients at UAMS, Arkansas Children’s Hospital, the VA Medical Center and UAMS’ Area Health Education Centers throughout the state. UAMS and its affiliates have an economic impact in Arkansas of $5 billion a year. For more information, visit