Seven Named to Winthrop P. Rockefeller Cancer Institute Foundation Fund Board at UAMS

By todd

LITTLE ROCK – The board of directors of the Winthrop P. Rockefeller Cancer Institute Foundation Fund at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) has announced the election of seven new board members.


The new members are Jimmy Moses, Cindy Murphy, Kelly Harbert, Judy Tenenbaum, Bishop Steven Arnold and Jeff Fox all of Little Rock, and Sean Rommel of Texarkana.


Members are selected for three-year terms and may serve up to four terms total.


The Winthrop P. Rockefeller Cancer Institute at UAMS is the state’s only cancer academic research center. The institute broke ground in 2007 for a 12-story expansion that will greatly increase its capacity for patient care and research. Donations to the institute’s expansion project are matched dollar for dollar by the state of Arkansas through June 30, 2009.


UAMS is the state’s only comprehensive academic health center, with five colleges, a graduate school, a medical center, six centers of excellence and a statewide network of regional centers. UAMS has 2,538 students and 733 medical residents. Its centers of excellence include the Winthrop P. Rockefeller Cancer Institute, the Jackson T. Stephens Spine & Neurosciences Institute, the Myeloma Institute for Research and Therapy, the Harvey & Bernice Jones Eye Institute, the Psychiatric Research Institute and the Donald W. Reynolds Institute on Aging. It is one of the state’s largest public employers with about 9,600 employees, including nearly 1,150 physicians who provide medical care to patients at UAMS, Arkansas Children’s Hospital, the VA Medical Center and UAMS’ Area Health Education Centers throughout the state. UAMS and its affiliates have an economic impact in Arkansas of $5 billion a year. Visit