UAMS’ Hiryak Receives National Award for Patient Access Work

By Jon Parham

The award is the organization’s highest honor and is presented only periodically by the group’s president. Hiryak, who has worked in health care for more than 30 years, was honored for her “dedication and diligence in raising the respect and acknowledgement of Access professionals across the country.”

Hiryak also was elected to serve as the organization’s 2010-2011 vice president. She will serve as the organization’s president the following year. She previously served as the group’s Education Committee Chair and Certification Commission Chair.

The Carl Satterfield President’s Award, named in memory of Carl Satterfield, a founding member of the association.

UAMS is the state’s only comprehensive academic health center, with colleges of Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, Health Related Professions and Public Health; a graduate school; a 540,000-square-foot hospital; a statewide network of regional centers; and six institutes: the Winthrop P. Rockefeller Cancer Institute, the Jackson T. Stephens Spine & Neurosciences Institute, the Myeloma Institute for Research and Therapy, the Harvey & Bernice Jones Eye Institute, the Psychiatric Research Institute and the Donald W. Reynolds Institute on Aging. UAMS has 2,775 students and 748 medical residents. It is the state’s largest public employer with more than 10,000 employees, including nearly 1,150 physicians who provide medical care to patients at UAMS, Arkansas Children’s Hospital, the VA Medical Center and UAMS’ Area Health Education Centers throughout the state. Visit or