UAMS Names Efurd Chair of Department of Dental Hygiene

By Ben Boulden

Efurd has been named chair of the Department of Dental Hygiene and program director for the college’s degree programs in dental hygiene. Since 2009, she has served as dental hygiene program director at the University of Arkansas Fort Smith. Her experience includes more than 20 years working as a hygienist at dental clinics in Arkansas and Louisiana.

A graduate of the UAMS Dental Hygiene program in 1979, she holds a master’s degree in dental hygiene education from the University of Missouri-Kansas City and a doctorate degree in education from the University of Arkansas. Efurd succeeds Susan Long, Ed.D., who was named the college’s associate dean for academic affairs in 2012.

She is a member of the American Dental Educators Association, the American Dental Hygienist Association and the Arkansas Dental Hygienist Association.

UAMS is the state’s only health sciences university, with colleges of Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, Health Professions and Public Health; a graduate school; hospital; northwest Arkansas regional campus; statewide network of regional centers; and six institutes: the Winthrop P. Rockefeller Cancer Institute, Jackson T. Stephens Spine & Neurosciences Institute, Harvey & Bernice Jones Eye Institute, Psychiatric Research Institute, Donald W. Reynolds Institute on Aging and Translational Research Institute. It is the only adult Level 1 trauma center in the state. UAMS has 2,727 students, 870 medical residents and five dental residents. It is the state’s largest public employer with more than 10,000 employees, including 1,200 physicians who provide care to patients at UAMS, its regional campuses throughout the state, Arkansas Children’s Hospital, the VA Medical Center and Baptist Health. Visit or Find us on FacebookTwitterYouTube or Instagram.