Arkansas Mutual, UAMS Team Up for $10,000 Award

By Ben Boulden


March 7, 2014 | An annual $10,000 award has been created by Arkansas Mutual Insurance Company and the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) to be given to a third-year medical student with an interest in rural primary care.

The award, called the Arkansas Mutual Medical Student Award, will first be awarded this summer.

“Rural health care practice is the key to a stronger overall health care landscape in the state of Arkansas,” said G. Richard Smith, M.D., dean of the UAMS College of Medicine. “Helping medical students to take an interest in rural health care, and helping them understand the impact they can make by practicing in rural communities is a challenge we have to face for future generations. This award offers incentives and recognizes those students who have shown an understanding of the importance of rural healthcare issues.”

The award will go to a third-year medical student with financial need that was born, raised or otherwise considered to be “from” Arkansas. The student will have expressed an interest in rural medicine and primary care, and also will have demonstrated an ability to excel in patient communication and patient- and family-centered care. The recipient of the award will be selected in compliance with the policies of UAMS and the College of Medicine.

“Arkansas Mutual is very pleased to be able to create and fund this award in conjunction with the UAMS College of Medicine,” said Corey Little, CEO of Arkansas Mutual Insurance Company. “Our mission as a company is to protect and serve the physicians of Arkansas and this student award is symbolic of the dedication we have to the health care community of Arkansas. The award’s focus on rural health care is especially important at this junction in our state’s history and we are proud to be able to make this contribution to our state’s future physicians.”

Arkansas Mutual Insurance Company, a nonprofit organization, is the only medical liability insurance provider that is headquartered in Arkansas and dedicated to serving only Arkansas-based medical professionals. Founded in 2008, Arkansas Mutual is owned and governed by its physician policyholders.