Angtuaco Honored by American Association for Women Radiologists

By ChaseYavondaC

Angtuaco has been a member of the association since the late 1980s. She served as president in 1999 and was on the executive committee from 1996 – 2002. She was active in initiating many of the organization’s activities during that time including its 25th and 30th anniversary celebrations.

To be selected, the recipient has to be nominated by an association member and is chosen by an awards committee composed of past presidents and the current president.  Angtuaco received the award Dec. 1 at the annual meeting of the Radiological Society of North America.

“It was very gratifying to know that all the efforts I have exerted on behalf of women in radiology have been recognized,” Angtuaco said. “More importantly, the things that I have done to deserve this award were done out of a passion for helping women develop their potential as career women who also have personal struggles as mothers, wives and daughters.  I have been through all those struggles in my life and have successfully emerged with the help of many mentors and supporters, both men and women.”

Angtuaco has been at UAMS since 1980. In addition to teaching in the College of Medicine, she has also had appointments in the College of Health Professions and the College of Public Health. She is board certified by the American Board of Radiology with Special Competence in Nuclear Radiology and the American Board of Nuclear Medicine.

She has previously been awarded the American Board of Radiology Service Excellence Award, UAMS College of Medicine Dean’s Educational Excellence Award, Radiology Award of Distinction and the UAMS Womens’s Faculty Development Caucus Most Outstanding Woman Faculty in 2002. She was honored as co-founder of the Women’s Faculty Development Caucus on its 25th anniversary in December 2014.

The Alice Ettinger lifetime achievement award is named after the first chair of radiology at Tufts University School of Medicine who first brought the technique of spot-film imaging from Berlin to the United States in 1932. She became the first radiologist-in-chief at Boston Dispensary and New England Medical Center and became the first director of Tufts radiology residency.

The award is given to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the field of radiology and to the association. Individuals must be long-term members of the association and must have distinguished careers as mentors, teachers and leaders in radiology/radiation oncology and public service.