UAMS Appoints 14 New Members to Northwest Campus Advisory Board

By Yavonda Chase

“We are pleased to welcome the valuable insight and experience of these new board members,” said Peter O. Kohler, M.D., vice chancellor for UAMS’ Northwest Campus. “The success and growth of our regional campus owes much to the guidance and support provided by our advisory board.”

The new members are:

  • Kristen Boozman, principal broker for Portfolio NWA
  • Mary Beth Brooks, retired president and CEO, The Bank of Fayetteville
  • Joy Drummonds, retired, WACO Title
  • Dan Ferritor, Ph.D., retired chancellor, University of Arkansas
  • Dorothy Hanby, certified public accountant
  • Bob King, community president, The Bank of Fayetteville
  • Mandy Macke, associate director and secretary of the board, Willard and Pat Walker Charitable Foundation
  • Mike Malone, president and CEO, Northwest Arkansas Council
  • Bryan Matthews, director, Veterans Health Care System of the Ozarks
  • Shane McAlister, M.D., retired radiologist
  • Donny Story, president, Arvest Fayetteville
  • Joanna Thomas, M.D., corporate medical director, Arkansas Blue Cross and Blue Shield
  • Margaret Whillock, retired
  • Russell Wood, M.D., surgeon

The new members join 13 others already on the board. They are: Joel D. Carver, M.D., cardiologist; Carl Collier, Pharm.D., Collier Drug Stores; Mark Enderle, M.D., medical director, Arkansas Blue Cross and Blue Shield; Lewis Epley, retired attorney and former University of Arkansas System trustee, Fayetteville; Morriss Henry, M.D., ophthalmologist; Evelyn Jorgenson, Ph.D., president, Northwest Arkansas Community College; Betsy Phillips, trustee, Harvey and Bernice Jones Charitable Trust; Ann Rosso, Washington Regional Medical Center Foundation Board of Directors; Archie Schaffer III, corporate affairs consultant, Tyson Foods Inc., ; Charles Scharlau III, retired president and CEO, Southwestern Energy Co.; Tom Smith, Ed.D., dean, College of Education and Health Professions, University of Arkansas; Philip Taldo, owner/broker, Weichert Realtors, the Griffin Co.; and Dick Trammel, executive vice president, Arvest Bank, Rogers.

The board met May 12 and elected officers. The new chair and representative on the UAMS advancement council is Rosso. Ferritor serves as vice chair.

UAMS is the state's only health sciences university, with colleges of Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, Health Professions and Public Health; a graduate school; hospital; a main campus in Little Rock; a Northwest Arkansas regional campus in Fayetteville; a statewide network of regional campuses; and seven institutes: the Winthrop P. Rockefeller Cancer Institute, Jackson T. Stephens Spine & Neurosciences Institute, Harvey & Bernice Jones Eye Institute, Psychiatric Research Institute, Donald W. Reynolds Institute on Aging, Translational Research Institute and Institute for Digital Health & Innovation. UAMS includes UAMS Health, a statewide health system that encompasses all of UAMS' clinical enterprise including its hospital, regional clinics and clinics it operates or staffs in cooperation with other providers. UAMS is the only adult Level 1 trauma center in the state. U.S. News & World Report recognized UAMS Medical Center as a Best Hospital for 2021-22; ranked its ear, nose and throat program among the top 50 nationwide for the third year; and named five areas as high performing — colon cancer surgery, diabetes, hip replacement, knee replacement and stroke. Forbes magazine ranked UAMS as seventh in the nation on its Best Employers for Diversity list. UAMS also ranked in the top 30% nationwide on Forbes’ Best Employers for Women list and was the only Arkansas employer included. UAMS has 2,876 students, 898 medical residents and six dental residents. It is the state's largest public employer with more than 10,000 employees, including 1,200 physicians who provide care to patients at UAMS, its regional campuses, Arkansas Children's, the VA Medical Center and Baptist Health. Visit or Find us on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube or Instagram.