Terry Angtuaco, M.D., Inducted as Inaugural Fellow to American Association for Women Radiologists

By ChaseYavondaC

The class was recognized at the 2017 Radiological Society of North America annual meeting in Chicago in November.

The American Association for Women Radiologists was founded in 1981 to address issues unique to women in radiology and related professions.

“Dr. Angtuaco’s success in achieving the goals of the AAWR can be readily seen in our own department,” said James E. McDonald, M.D., chair of the UAMS Department of Radiology. “While the need for improvement in gender diversity in radiology is a topic of discussion nationally, at UAMS we are fortunate to recruit outstanding women to our training programs each year, and women lead more than half of our divisions and sections. This is in significant measure due to the role model of excellence in clinical care, education and scholarship Dr. Angtuaco has provided through the years.”

Angtuaco came to UAMS in 1980 as an instructor in the Department of Radiology. She was promoted to assistant professor a year later. She holds faculty positions in five departments across the colleges of Medicine, Health Professions and Public Health.

She earned her bachelor’s degree from the University of San Agustin in the Philippines and her medical degree at the University of the Philippines. She completed a residency in diagnostic radiology at the Lahey Clinic Foundation in Boston and one in nuclear medicine at UAMS.

Angtuaco is a member of the Radiological Society of North America, American Association for Women Radiologists and a fellow in the American College of Radiology, American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine and Society of Radiologists in Ultrasound.

She’s authored or co-authored several peer-reviewed articles and lectured internationally.

UAMS is the state's only health sciences university, with colleges of Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, Health Professions and Public Health; a graduate school; a hospital; a main campus in Little Rock; a Northwest Arkansas regional campus in Fayetteville; a statewide network of regional campuses; and seven institutes: the Winthrop P. Rockefeller Cancer Institute, Jackson T. Stephens Spine & Neurosciences Institute, Harvey & Bernice Jones Eye Institute, Psychiatric Research Institute, Donald W. Reynolds Institute on Aging, Translational Research Institute and Institute for Digital Health & Innovation. UAMS includes UAMS Health, a statewide health system that encompasses all of UAMS' clinical enterprise. UAMS is the only adult Level 1 trauma center in the state. UAMS has 3,275 students, 890 medical residents and fellows, and five dental residents. It is the state's largest public employer with more than 12,000 employees, including 1,200 physicians who provide care to patients at UAMS, its regional campuses, Arkansas Children's, the VA Medical Center and Baptist Health. Visit www.uams.edu or uamshealth.com. Find us on Facebook, X (formerly Twitter), YouTube or Instagram.