UAMS College of Pharmacy Professor First Arkansan to Serve as American Pharmacists Association President

By Ben Boulden

Hilliard is a professor in the College of Pharmacy Department of Pharmacy Practice.

Nicki Hilliard, Pharm.D.

Nicki Hilliard, Pharm.D.

After serving for a year as president-elect, she became president at the association’s annual meeting March 19 in Nashville, Tennessee. In 2019, Hilliard will become past-president and will continue to serve on the Board of Trustees.

Hilliard is a former APhA-Academy of Pharmacy Practice and Management president and APhA Trustee. She now also serves on the APhA Finance and Executive Committees and represents the association on the Joint Commission of Pharmacy Practitioners.

In 1996, Hilliard earned her doctorate in pharmacy and in 1983 her bachelor’s degree in pharmacy, both from the UAMS College of Pharmacy. In 1990, she earned a master’s degree in health services administration from the University of Arkansas at Little Rock.

Founded in 1852, APhA has more than 62,000 practicing pharmacists, pharmaceutical scientists, student pharmacists and pharmacy technicians as members. Through information, education and advocacy, APhA empowers its members to improve medication use and advance patient care.