UAMS’ Scott Dickson, M.D., Named President of American Academy of Family Physicians’ Arkansas Chapter

By Ben Boulden

Scott Dickson, M.D.

Scott Dickson, M.D.

Dickson has served on the Arkansas board of AAFP for more than four years. He is a member of the Association of Teachers of Family Medicine and the Physician’s Health Committee and the Medical Executive Committee at St. Bernards Medical Center in Jonesboro.

After graduating in 1994 from Arkansas State University in Jonesboro with a bachelor’s degree in zoology, Dickson in 1998 earned his medical degree from UAMS, followed by a residency in family medicine at UAMS Northeast Regional Campus. He served for eight years as assistant residency director there before being named residency director in 2009.

UAMS is the state’s only health sciences university, with colleges of Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, Health Professions and Public Health; a graduate school; a hospital; a main campus in Little Rock; a Northwest Arkansas regional campus in Fayetteville; a statewide network of regional campuses; and eight institutes: the Winthrop P. Rockefeller Cancer Institute, Jackson T. Stephens Spine & Neurosciences Institute, Harvey & Bernice Jones Eye Institute, Psychiatric Research Institute, Donald W. Reynolds Institute on Aging, Translational Research Institute, Institute for Digital Health & Innovation and the Institute for Community Health Innovation. UAMS includes UAMS Health, a statewide health system that encompasses all of UAMS’ clinical enterprise. UAMS is the only adult Level 1 trauma center in the state. UAMS has 3,275 students, 890 medical residents and fellows, and five dental residents. It is the state’s largest public employer with more than 12,000 employees, including 1,200 physicians who provide care to patients at UAMS, its regional campuses, Arkansas Children’s, the VA Medical Center and Baptist Health. Visit or Find us on Facebook, X (formerly Twitter), YouTube or Instagram.