UAMS Myeloma Center Social Work Manager Harold Dean to Lead National Association

By Linda Haymes

Harold Dean, LCSW-C, clinical social work program manager for the Myeloma Center, has been chosen to lead the Association of Social Work Boards board of directors

Harold Dean, LCSW-C

Dean will serve as president-elect for one year, followed by a two-year term as president and a fourth year as past present. Dean was elected at the association’s 2018 annual meeting of delegates in November.

Dean served as a director at large on the association’s Board of Directors from 2016 through 2018 and on the 2016-2017 Mobility Task Force. The nonprofit organization, founded in 1979 and including members from the United States and Canada, provides support and services to the social work regulatory community to improve practices.

“The Association of Social Work Boards is a wonderful organization dedicated to advancing safe, competent and ethical social work practice to strengthen public protection,” Dean said. “I am very excited that my new role will allow me to be involved in the mission of public protection on both a national and international level.”

“He has been a valuable member of the ASWB board over the last two years as a director,” Mary Jo Monahan, CEO. “I look forward to working with Harold in his new role on the board.”

Dean has worked in oncology social work for more than 26 years. He received oncology social work certification (OSW-C) in 2005. He has also worked as a field liaison for the University of Arkansas at Little Rock School of Social Work for the last 18 years.

He received his undergraduate degree in sociology from Jacksonville State University in Jacksonville, Alabama, and a Master of Social Work degree from UALR. Dean was appointed to the Arkansas Social Work Licensing Board in 2013 and served as chair from 2014-2017.

Dean is a member of the Association of Oncology Social Work and a volunteer with the American Cancer Society and the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. Since 2010, he has served as co-facilitator for the Little Rock Blood Cancer Support Group, which meets monthly at the Little Rock Family Home. He was honored with a 2018 Legacy Leadership Award by the Arkansas Division of the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. The award recognizes individuals who have a vision for a world without blood cancers and honors their ongoing passion and dedication to Arkansans.

UAMS is the state’s only health sciences university, with colleges of Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, Health Professions and Public Health; a graduate school; a hospital; a main campus in Little Rock; a Northwest Arkansas regional campus in Fayetteville; a statewide network of regional campuses; and eight institutes: the Winthrop P. Rockefeller Cancer Institute, Jackson T. Stephens Spine & Neurosciences Institute, Harvey & Bernice Jones Eye Institute, Psychiatric Research Institute, Donald W. Reynolds Institute on Aging, Translational Research Institute, Institute for Digital Health & Innovation and the Institute for Community Health Innovation. UAMS includes UAMS Health, a statewide health system that encompasses all of UAMS’ clinical enterprise. UAMS is the only adult Level 1 trauma center in the state. UAMS has 3,275 students, 890 medical residents and fellows, and five dental residents. It is the state’s largest public employer with more than 12,000 employees, including 1,200 physicians who provide care to patients at UAMS, its regional campuses, Arkansas Children’s, the VA Medical Center and Baptist Health. Visit or Find us on Facebook, X (formerly Twitter), YouTube or Instagram.