UAMS Myeloma Center Social Work Manager Appointed to National Board

By Linda Haymes

Dean will serve for three years. The BOSWC, established in 2003, promotes excellence in psychosocial care for oncology patients, families, caregivers and their communities through the process of certification. Social workers who demonstrate advanced levels of competence, commitment and experience in the field of oncology social work are awarded this certification, designated by the credential OSW-C.

He has worked in oncology social work for more than 27 years. Dean received his oncology social work certification in 2005 and is one of three social workers in Arkansas who currently hold this certification.

Dean has also worked as a field liaison for the University of Arkansas at Little Rock’s School of Social Work for the last 21 years and recently began a two-year term as president of the Association of Social Work Boards. The nonprofit organization, founded in 1979 and including members from the United States and Canada, provides support and services to the social work regulatory community to improve practices. He is also a member of the Association of Oncology Social Work and the National Association of Social Workers.

Dean received his undergraduate degree in sociology from Jacksonville State University in Jacksonville, Alabama, and a Master of Social Work degree from UA-Little Rock. He was appointed to the Arkansas Social Work Licensing Board in 2013, where he served as chair from 2014 to 2017.

He also volunteers with the American Cancer Society and the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. Since 2010, he has served as co-facilitator for the Little Rock Blood Cancer Support Group, which meets monthly at the Little Rock Family Home. The Arkansas Division of the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society honored Dean with the Legacy Leadership Award in 2018.



UAMS is the state’s only health sciences university, with colleges of Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, Health Professions and Public Health; a graduate school; a hospital; a main campus in Little Rock; a Northwest Arkansas regional campus in Fayetteville; a statewide network of regional campuses; and eight institutes: the Winthrop P. Rockefeller Cancer Institute, Jackson T. Stephens Spine & Neurosciences Institute, Harvey & Bernice Jones Eye Institute, Psychiatric Research Institute, Donald W. Reynolds Institute on Aging, Translational Research Institute, Institute for Digital Health & Innovation and the Institute for Community Health Innovation. UAMS includes UAMS Health, a statewide health system that encompasses all of UAMS’ clinical enterprise. UAMS is the only adult Level 1 trauma center in the state. UAMS has 3,275 students, 890 medical residents and fellows, and five dental residents. It is the state’s largest public employer with more than 12,000 employees, including 1,200 physicians who provide care to patients at UAMS, its regional campuses, Arkansas Children’s, the VA Medical Center and Baptist Health. Visit or Find us on Facebook, X (formerly Twitter), YouTube or Instagram.