Students Chosen for Geriatric Student Scholars Program

By Vanessa Lee

The UAMS students selected for the program are Erica Dewey from the College of Medicine, Anna Harrison from the College of Health Professions, Tenia Marshall from the College of Nursing and Gale Menotti from the College of Pharmacy.

The purpose of the AGEC-sponsored Student Scholars program is to increase health professions students’ interest and exposure to older adults, to improve knowledge of older adults and the specialized care they need, and to promote interprofessional collaboration among health professions students.

“We are so excited to announce the Geriatric Student Scholars for FY 2022 to support emerging health professionals’ education and participation surrounding specialized needs for older adults, and to foster interprofessional collaboration in academic and clinical geriatrics,” said Robin McAtee, Ph.D., RN., director of AGEC.  “The goal of the Geriatric Workforce Enhancement Program is to enhance the quality of health care for elderly Arkansans through research, education and training. The Geriatric Student Scholars program is an excellent way to achieve this goal and mentor future health care team members.”

UAMS’ Arkansas Geriatric Education Collaborative is a program of the UAMS Department of Geriatrics in the College of Medicine. The collaborative is funded by a Health Resources and Services Administration grant of $3.7 million for a Geriatrics Workforce Enhancement Program. This program provides free community and health professional programs focused on geriatric training and education.