UAMS College of Medicine Receives $100,000 To Establish Scholarship in Retired Cardiologist’s Name

By Linda Satter

Murphy’s late husband, Marvin L. Murphy, M.D., was a cardiologist at UAMS for 33 years, from 1963 until his retirement in 1996. He was a professor emeritus thereafter and died on Feb. 17, 2002, at age 71.

In 1991, Murphy received the College of Medicine’s Distinguished Faculty Award, which was established in 1973 to honor exemplary faculty members who helped shape the institution.

“Scholarships are a powerful tool for attracting the most promising students to UAMS and producing the very best doctors for Arkansas,” said Susan Smyth, M.D., Ph.D., executive vice chancellor and dean of the College of Medicine. “We are grateful to Mrs. Murphy and her family for investing in our mission through a gift that reflects the late Dr. Marvin L. Murphy’s passion for medical education.”

“Marv felt very strongly that UAMS should educate outstanding doctors — exceedingly well-trained and caring. He and I always sought to impart two things to our children —roots and wings,” said Rosanne Murphy. “With this scholarship, in honoring him, our family seeks to help physicians establish strong roots at UAMS and to move forward to serve, honor and care for patients and their families.”

Murphy received his Doctor of Medicine from the University of Kansas School of Medicine in Kansas City, Kansas, in 1956, and later completed a residency there following an internship at Indianapolis General Hospital in Indiana. He was in private practice in Siloam Springs for two years before moving to Little Rock and completing a residency at UAMS, then known as the University of Arkansas School of Medicine, before joining the faculty.

He started as an instructor and by 1974, had become a professor of medicine. From 1977 through 1980, he was the director of the College of Medicine Division of Cardiology. He served as director of the college’s Cardiology Training Program from 1977 through 1982.  He also served as president of the Arkansas chapter of the American Heart Association from 1982 to 1984. He helped train more than 100 specialists in the field of cardiology.

UAMS is the state’s only health sciences university, with colleges of Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, Health Professions and Public Health; a graduate school; a hospital; a main campus in Little Rock; a Northwest Arkansas regional campus in Fayetteville; a statewide network of regional campuses; and eight institutes: the Winthrop P. Rockefeller Cancer Institute, Jackson T. Stephens Spine & Neurosciences Institute, Harvey & Bernice Jones Eye Institute, Psychiatric Research Institute, Donald W. Reynolds Institute on Aging, Translational Research Institute, Institute for Digital Health & Innovation and the Institute for Community Health Innovation. UAMS includes UAMS Health, a statewide health system that encompasses all of UAMS’ clinical enterprise. UAMS is the only adult Level 1 trauma center in the state. UAMS has 3,275 students, 890 medical residents and fellows, and five dental residents. It is the state’s largest public employer with more than 12,000 employees, including 1,200 physicians who provide care to patients at UAMS, its regional campuses, Arkansas Children’s, the VA Medical Center and Baptist Health. Visit or Find us on Facebook, X (formerly Twitter), YouTube or Instagram.