UAMS to Host Feb. 23 Lecture on Advances in Neuroscience

By Linda Satter

Presented by Jacques J. Morcos, M.D., president-elect of the American Association of Neurological Surgeons (AANS), the lecture is part of the M. Gazi and Dianne C.H. Yasargil Lectureship, “Advances in Neuroscience,” which began in 2008 to honor the then-UAMS professor and his wife.

Morcos is a professor and chair of the Vivian L. Smith Department of Neurosurgery at the McGovern Medical School at UTHealth Houston, where he is also director of cerebrovascular and skull base neurosurgery and co-director of neurosciences.

The lecture begins at 5 p.m. on the 12th floor of the Jackson T. Stephens Spine & Neurosciences Institute at 501 Jack Stephens Drive on the UAMS campus. A reception will follow.

Free parking will be available in UAMS Parking Deck 3 at 4000 W. Capitol Ave., and the event will be livestreamed via Zoom.

Morcos is a renowned, double fellowship-trained neurosurgeon whose expertise spans cardiovascular lesions and complex brain tumors. He is a native of Lebanon who earned his medical degree at the American University of Beirut, completed his residency in neurological surgery at the University of Minnesota Hospital and Clinics and completed fellowships in cerebrovascular surgery at the University of Florida College of Medicine and in cerebrovascular and skull base surgery at Barrow Neurological Institute in Phoenix.

Gazi Yasargil, originally from Turkey, joined the UAMS faculty in 1994 and took professor emeritus status in 2013. He was a microneurosurgery pioneer and was named “Man of the Century 1950-1999” by the Congress of Neurological Surgeons for his extraordinary body of work, including the development of several tools used in microneurosurgery.

His wife, Dianne, was a nurse who developed a method of organizing surgical instruments into sets for different types of neurosurgeries and later founded the European Association of Neurosciences Nurses.

Continuing education credit is available for physicians. For more information and to register or obtain a Zoom link, please visit:

UAMS is the state’s only health sciences university, with colleges of Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, Health Professions and Public Health; a graduate school; a hospital; a main campus in Little Rock; a Northwest Arkansas regional campus in Fayetteville; a statewide network of regional campuses; and eight institutes: the Winthrop P. Rockefeller Cancer Institute, Jackson T. Stephens Spine & Neurosciences Institute, Harvey & Bernice Jones Eye Institute, Psychiatric Research Institute, Donald W. Reynolds Institute on Aging, Translational Research Institute, Institute for Digital Health & Innovation and the Institute for Community Health Innovation. UAMS includes UAMS Health, a statewide health system that encompasses all of UAMS’ clinical enterprise. UAMS is the only adult Level 1 trauma center in the state. UAMS has 3,275 students, 890 medical residents and fellows, and five dental residents. It is the state’s largest public employer with more than 12,000 employees, including 1,200 physicians who provide care to patients at UAMS, its regional campuses, Arkansas Children’s, the VA Medical Center and Baptist Health. Visit or Find us on Facebook, X (formerly Twitter), YouTube or Instagram.